Butterfly Visitors

MIGRATING MONARCHS

“Just living is not enough,” said the butterfly, “one must have sunshine, freedom and a little flower.”  ~Hans Christian Anderson

These last two weeks, my garden has played host to the migrating Monarchs seeking nourishment on their long journey south

If you enjoy these visitors as much as I do, you can plan to plant their favorites.

I plant perennial asters in purple and pink shades and “Autumn Joy” Sedum with its reliable blooms.

I also plant annual Zinnia. I prefer the small “Gold Star” zinnia which can be tucked in the front of the border. They pair nicely with annual “Firecracker” red Salvia and perennial purple Phlox to give a burst of color in late summer and then serve as “butterfly magnets”.

If you have room for several shrubs, I recommend a white butterfly bush and a blue mist Spiraea.  Butterfly bush takes up some room. I have used it in large pots as a decorative accent. It loves the sun. Blue Mist Spiraea is a mid size shrub and fits nicely into the back of the border.

Monarch Butterflies

In September, sit back and enjoy the show!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment